New beginnings

The start of the new year, two months ago, also marks the start of a new job for me. Tomorrow morning I will be heading into the centre of Manchester for my first day at my new job. The role is similar to what I was previously doing but I will be working on different clients and I’m really looking forward to a change of scenery.

I definitely have that night before starting at a new school feeling. I’m keen to meet my new colleagues and see how the new agency compares to my old work place. It will be interesting to see how their processes compare and generally how the office functions. I’m looking forward to seeing my new desk, chair, computer etc. as this will be the place I will be setting up camp during this new chapter of my life.

Exciting times. This week I will also be having my fourth drumming lesson since taking up drumming at the beginning of the year. I’m really enjoying my lessons and feel like I’ve made quite good progress, especially when I show my boyfriend what I’ve learnt and he, who can usually do most things, can’t do what I’ve learnt. It feels different to when I was learning other instruments at school, I’m putting in about half an hours practice before each lesson as now I’m the one paying for the lessons I want to make the most of them.

It’s getting to the stage now where I’m practicing by hitting a combination of books, chairs and my leg to practice, that I’m thinking getting a drum kit would be the next step and a whole lot of fun. My housemate used to be a drummer so we’ve decided it would be a good idea to get a kit together, not sure if the other housemates will agree.

Drum kits and other expenses are currently having to be put on hold before the holiday season. With two big holidays over the next couple of months I’m really having to be strict with my budget. First is skiing in Tignes then at the beginning of April I will be heading to Los Angeles for two weeks with my school friends which will be a whole lot of fun, but it’s currently also costing a whole lot of money.

Triathlon training has been going well. I feel like my swimming has improved but I still think I could benefit from a couple of lessons. Hopefully I will source some once I’ve settled in at my new job and get a routine going.

Watch this space for feedback from my first day! Including a review of what it’s like to cycle to work.

Thoughts from this week:

  • January and February have gone quickly
  • Blog has been neglected in 2016
  • The flat has another resident mouse
  • Looking forward to the days getting longer
  • My long boarding has also improved, bring on LA

20160212_084407 20160213_150541

 

This entry was posted in Work and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

