Two days until Snowdonia Marathon

I have just finished my latest running playlist titled ‘The Hills’. My bag is packed and tomorrow I will be driving home to my parents house ready to carb load before heading to Snowdonia on Saturday morning for the main event. With two days to go today I have been mentally preparing myself for the weekend ahead.

Without an official training plan this marathon seems to not have creeped up on me but not been at the forefront of my mind as much for some reason. I think maybe other commitments like work, social life etc. have been taking up more of my mind than the Snowdonia Marathon. People have been asking me this week if I’m ready for it and I feel like I am physically, depending on how tough the hills will be but today I started to think whether I am mentally prepared for it.

Running a marathon is 40% physical and 60% mental. It’s not natural for a human to run 26.2 miles but with training you can get your body to a state where it can cope but mentally pushing yourself that hard is also just as tough especially for myself as I am an emotional runner for sure.

I was in tears at the end of London Marathon earlier this year, ecstatic with my effort and improving my PB after all of my hard training. Even when I’m going on any run emotional pick me ups work wonders for me. On a 17 mile training run I was about 5 miles from home feeling pretty knackered and my Mum and her friend drove past me and beeped and waved madly, I had an instant energy boost and got what I needed to get through the last few miles. High fives from children, seeing a sign that says touch here for a power boost, random strangers shouting my name telling me I can do it, that is one of the things I love the most about running. It’s unlike anything else I’ve experienced. On Saturday I will be looking out for my support team when I need them most. My Mum who is my official support team member there from the start of my first 10k and Dad who is more part time supporter will help me around the course. And as cringe as it may be placing my boyfriend strategically at the hard miles will help me to keep going on the hills because once I get up this hill I will be able to say hi to him. Things like that are my mental energy tablets.

My friend did her first half marathon in Berlin last weekend and I’m very proud of her. We were having a conversation about how once you’ve done something like a half marathon, something you thought you might not ever do it makes you feel invincible. Now I’m so pleased she gets why people love running! It’s an addictive way to feel, the fact that running for a couple of hours makes you feel like you can do anything.

To get myself in the emotional mood I watched a few motivational videos which made me feel like I was going to cry at work (might be taking this emotional thing a bit too far: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7B5IHtUXFg) but it definitely helped to get me hyped up for the big day on Saturday and I can’t wait to have that ultimate feeling of accomplishment at the end of the day.

Here is a list of songs that always make an appearance on my running playlists:

Work- Iggy Azealea

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger- Kelly Clarkson

On a mission- Gabriella Cilimi

I’ll be OK – McFly

Girl on fire – Alicia Keys

Gotta get through this- Daniel Bedingfield

Thoughts from this week:

  • I sold a lot of clothes on eBay this week
  • My iPhone battery is officially rubbish
  • Saw Jamie XX twice last Friday night
  • I have missed running in the dark
  • The Walking Dead is back

marathon

 

This entry was posted in marathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

