Amy Winehouse

Last week I went to see Amy. I really was a brilliant documentary but incredibly sad. Since seeing the film I have read lots of reviews and interviews with people who helped create the documentary, including the Jeremy Kyle episode with Blake Fielder-Civil.

Before seeing the film I wouldn’t say I was massively into Amy Winehouse. My sister bought her Back to Black album when we were in school and I can remember driving around one summer with the CD in her car for a good few months but that and hearing her stuff in the charts was as far as my fandom went. I obviously saw Amy in the press too which had tainted my relatively faded memory of Amy Winehouse.

Since seeing the film I have listened to Frank a number of times and it’s such a shame that nothing more will come from such a talented writer and singer. I’d heard people go on about Amy Winehouse saying how amazing she was but I didn’t really get it. Since seeing the film I can see why, she made writing amazing songs look so effortless.

A few things stood out to me in the documentary the first shot of Amy singing happy birthday to one of her friends aged 17 was amazing. It followed her family life and showed her father leaving her Mum and Amy telling her Mum about her bulimia. Her relationship with Blake is horrible to watch. He makes your skin crawl and is definitely the baddy in this story. Although when films like this are created they have to follow an angle and Blake’s angle in this is that he’s a massive twat, but I hope that he wasn’t as awful in real life because it was a horrendously toxic relationship.

One thing that I’ve been thinking about since seeing the film is the fact that Amy was so young when she hit the big time. She was a similar age to me when Back to Black was released and when I think about what she was having to deal with at this age, it’s crazy. She was 100% bullied by the paparazzi and British press. Even watching the 20 second clips of the paparazzi chasing her was enough to give me a headache, but this was something Amy had to deal with every time she left the house.

I read one article about how comedians and the press ridiculed Winehouse due to her appearance. Even the uni game where you taped two bottles of wine to your hands and call it Amy Winehands, people never think that this is a human being everyone is talking about suffering from a drug addiction and bulimia. If they were obese with cancer I don’t think people would have the same perceptions as they did for Amy.

In my opinion the press really were the ones who put the nail in the coffin for Amy. Even now people’s obsession with Winehouse has been dug up and put into the spotlight once again, this blog being hypocritical with it. I’ve been thinking about what Amy would think of the film and why all of her friends and family decided to break their pact of not selling their story. I hope it was with the intention that it could bring some awareness to how the public deal with mental illnesses. I’ve also been thinking about how the story would differ if Amy had been young man in a similar position, would he have received the same treatment?

“If we’d stopped clicking and sharing, they would have turned their attention elsewhere.”

Thoughts from this week:

  • Footage of people violently gatecrashing Wireless has angered me
  • Glastonbury cold is still lingering
  • Walking Dead Season 6 trailer is very exciting
  • Holiday a week tomorrow
  • Thinking of signing up for the Macclesfield Half Marathon in September

IMG_4812 IMG_4816 IMG_4809

 

This entry was posted in Cinema and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

