Busy running or running busy

I’ve had a fairly busy couple of weeks recently. This time last year I definitely seemed less busy and I’m not exactly sure why. One thing that has been making training a bit harder is work. I’ve moved jobs since the last marathon and I used to start work at 9.30am and have a 10 minute commute. I now start at 9am and have an average 45 minute commute each way meaning I’m losing a fairly significant amount of prime running time. I also generally have a larger workload with my current job which is brilliant. One thing that helps me cope with lots of work is running so when I’m really busy at work and I don’t have time to run it ends up in a bit of a vicious circle.

However, marathon training when things are busy is still doable you just need to be really organised. I’m pretty good at sticking to my plan, mainly for mental reassurance as I feel if I tick off all the miles my plan tells me to do I’ll be able to do the marathon, so I just make sure that I cover the number of miles I have planned to do in some shape or form. Sometimes I carry them over to the next week like I’ve done this week because I missed a long 10 mile run at the weekend because I was in Aberdeen (which is another blog entry in itself because it was such a great weekend.)

Marathon training is going well. I feel like over the past few runs I’ve been surprisingly fast, apart from the last run I did which was my first fell run ever. As our office is in a fairly rural area, on the edge of the peak district, we’re lucky enough to be surrounded by a a few fields and some hills. As I’m not from the area near work I had never walked up to ‘White Nancy’ but had seen it from the roads a few times as this white blob on top of a hill. After seeing a brutally, hardcore fell running video on Youtube I was inspired to give it a go.

In a way I was glad I’d never been up to White Nancy before because I didn’t know what to expect and it was a new and exciting route which always makes for a good run. The conditions were good but I cannot do hills for toffee. It was a good insight into what hill training for the Snowdonia Marathon will be like later on in the year, god help me. It was a really enjoyable run, even the part where we were ankle deep in cow poo was quite ridiculously funny.

After a gym session this week and a few longish runs my legs feel knackered and I’ve had to chicken out of Friday’s kettlebells class for fear or collapsing mid squat. A week on Sunday is my halfway-ish through training half marathon in Blackpool. I’m dreaming of getting an around the 2 hour mark time but I’m not 100% sure what the pace should feel like to achieve that so I’m going to do a 11 kmph 5 k run on the treadmill instead and then do some foam rolling hopefully to avoid stiff legs over the weekend.

I also managed to get a ballot place on the London 100 prudential bike ride this week which my Dad and I both didn’t think was going to happen but I’m already looking forward to a summer of bike training.

Thoughts from this week:

  • Randomly bought a Charlie XCX ticket this week after thinking she reminded me of Gwen Stefani
  • Think I’m addicted to running with my Camelback
  • Want to see the drumming film Whiplash
  • Had pizza for lunch paid for by work this week which was amazing
  • Azealia Banks Chasing Time has been on repeat this week

IMG_3522 IMG_3686 IMG_3516 IMG_3687 IMG_3688 IMG_3684

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Busy running or running busy

  1. Brittany says:

    Glad training it going well, that’s always a good thing. So is pizza after a long run. Haaa.

Leave a Reply

