Tatton Park Yule Yomp 2.0

One bath and two cups of tea later and I feel like I am now back to a normal temperature after running the 10k Tatton Park Yule Yomp this morning. It’s the second time I’ve ran this race and I was pleased with my time of 57 minutes, considering the conditions, and was a whole four minutes faster than last years time of 1 hour 1 minute. And I’ve just realised that as my previous 10k time was 58 minutes I got a new PB today!

I paced myself today for the first time. Last time I did a 10k at the We love Manchester 10k there was an official pacer that I stuck with the whole way around to achieve a sub 1 hour 10k but this time I was on my own. My Dad very kindly bought me a watch from a place near their house when I was at home yesterday and although it cost £5 it worked perfectly me today as it had a stopwatch and all I needed to do was to keep close to 5 minute kms and I would do a sub 1 hour 10k, but as it turns out I got a PB it obviously worked really well.

In the book I’m currently reading, Keep on running; the highs and lows of a marathon addict, the guy who’s written the book goes on about how if you want to be a serious runner you have to do the maths. When he does marathons he has loads of calculations for minute miles he uses to improve his times. Loads of other people use Garmin’s but I feel like if I had a Garmin or something constantly showing me my pace it would make me realise how slowly I was going and take the fun out of it.

I’m very surprised I managed to get a PB today seeing as the conditions we ran in were hands down the worst conditions I’ve ever ran in. It started off with rain at the start, then as the rain carried on it turned into hail along with a blasting of wind the whole way around too. The course wasn’t as flat as the We love Manchester 10k and it was really muddy for about 25% of the route. One guy lost his shoe in a muddy puddle and had to hop to get it back and a couple of people also fell over. I found myself saying I can’t believe how bad the weather was but as it is December I guess it’s not that surprising and at some points going around the 10k it was pretty funny thinking about how we do this by choice. There was also about 200 deer we passed in the park which was nice.

Similarly to last year the goody bags we got at the end were really good. We got a loaf of bread, some fruit tea cakes, some gingerbread men and a sports drink. I also bought a Tatton Park Yule Yomp running shirt for £10 and some Christmas cards from a charity stall.

Thoughts from this week:

  • I got a black toe nail after the run today, not sure why
  • Really like Chvrches new track
  • Going to watch Elf this evening for the first time this season
  • There is too much football on the TV at the moment
  • Very sleepy after this weekend

tatton park tatton park 2 FullSizeRender

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tatton Park Yule Yomp 2.0

Leave a Reply

