Winter running

I’ve just got back from a 7 mile run and it was pretty cold out there. My phone currently says it’s 3 degrees outside and it’s safe to say that is the coldest run I have been on for a while and definitely a sign of things to come. I’m not really complaining as I’d rather run in the cold than in hot temperatures. If you’re cold on a cold run you can just move faster or put more layers on. If you’re hot on a hot run there’s not much you can do about it.

One of the most satisfying things about running in the cold, apart from bragging rights for running whilst everyone else is watching I’m a celeb in their onesies, is getting your outfit right. I’m not just talking about looking super trendy while you run, it’s all about being the perfect temperature when you run which sometimes can be a tricky task to manage.

I now have a fair collection of running items and this evening I went for full length bottoms, a t-shirt and a thin wind protector jacket. I also donned a skiing turtle neck folded over a few times for a head band which gave me a bit of a headache as it was a bit tight but kept my ears warm as previously I’ve ended up with an ear ache the next day because my ears were so cold. It sometimes can be tricky to judge what to wear as what you’re wearing while your stationary won’t necessarily be the right thing to wear once you get going.

There are a few items I’d like to add to my running wardrobe to cope with marathon training in the new year as I feel that there will be plenty of early morning/late evening/generally cold runs. I had a pair of cotton gloves but lost one when I went to St Anton so will need to replace them, a running gilet/vest preferably high-vis for when my Aldi running jacket is too much but my wind jacket isn’t enough, a proper running headband that doesn’t give me a headache, another sports bra wouldn’t hurt and as always more socks.

There’s nothing like new running gear to motive marathon training!

Thoughts from this week:

  • Taylor Swift is being demoted from my alarm after I slept through Blank Space this morning and woke up an hour late
  • Tatton Park Yule Yomp 10k on Sunday which should be good
  • Need to get my Manchester Marathon medal framed
  • Got Foo Fighters tickets last week
  • Loving the fact it’s December, wahoo
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter running

  1. A tricky business. It’s alright once you get going. I need some new gloves.

Leave a Reply

