Less than three weeks to go

So I’m sure most people who read my blog/people I have on Facebook are more than aware that I’m doing the Manchester Marathon. But in three weeks time that shall be no more as it will be over by then. I cannot believe how quickly the past couple of months have gone.

Talking to people about my training I’m glad I only allowed myself a reasonably short amount of time to train for the marathon. I’ve began to dread the weekends of 15 plus mile runs and thankfully I did my last big run before the marathon of 20 miles last Sunday. The thought of people who train for six months for a marathon is unbearable.

I’m so over going to bed early on a Saturday night because I’m going running the next morning and having to turn down mad Friday nights out because I know I’ll get a two day hangover and won’t be able to get out of bed all weekend let alone drag my feet around the streets of Manchester.

One thing I will miss about training for the marathon is being able to eat whatever I want. I have a feeling I’ll have to calm down on the amount of chocolate I’ve been eating as I won’t be running 12 miles every weekend anymore.

People have been asking me if I feel ready for the marathon and my response has been I’m ready as I’ll ever be. I can’t think of anything more that I could have done to improve my chances of surviving the marathon. I’ve been sticking to my training plan, bought new trainers and been running four times a week for what feels like forever.

All that’s left to do now is begin my ‘tapering off’ phase of my training which I’m greatly looking forward to, especially as I’m going to Austria on Saturday to go skiing with my seasonnaire friends. Once I survive the skiing holiday there will be a couple of 3 and 6 milers mid week and maybe another 10 miler at the weekend and then that will be it before the real deal. I will have to think of something else to blog about once it’s all over.

Training summary:

Money raised: £1,150         49/70 runs           310/421 miles         19 days to go

Thought from this week:

  • I went to see Haim a couple off weeks ago and they were awesome
  • Loving my new running shoes from Sweat Shop
  • Skiing holidays are the most expensive thing in the world
  • We did a coffee morning last weekend and raised £350 for the marathon
  • Need to make a skiing playlist

033 060 064 076 078

This entry was posted in marathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Less than three weeks to go

  1. Laura says:

    Good luck come race day – it sounds like you are ready!

Leave a Reply

