Halfway

It is now six weeks to go until the Manchester marathon. Every weekend I have been running a few miles further and last weekend I ran the Oulton Park Half Marathon. I really feel like my training is paying off as I can remember thinking a few months ago when I was running 10ks that I’d never be able to run a half marathon and last weekend I did it. I was aiming to run the whole 13 miles and do it in under 2 hours and 30 minutes, which I did finishing in 2 hours 19 minutes.

This week I have been taking it easy and eating a lot. I missed Chorlton running on Tuesday as we were in Liverpool for my Mum’s birthday so I was planning to do the 7.5 miles I had planned this evening. Unfortunately I left my running trainers at in my parents car but I did have my 10 year old tennis shoes in Chorlton which I thought would do the job. After I remembered I had my tennis shoes I remembered how a lady at work was telling me how her husband ran a half marathon but wrecked his legs as he did it in tennis shoes.

This like many other excuses has lead me to avoiding one planned run completely and cutting the other one really short by doing 3 miles instead of 7.5 miles this week. Although I feel that running 7.5 miles in tennis shoes is a genuinely bad idea which could ruin further training, I don’t want to get into the habit of skipping runs or cutting runs short. So after this week there will be no more of that.

I wasn’t originally going to do a planned half marathon when I signed up for the marathon as I thought it was a bit of a waste of money but I’m now really glad I did. It made me realise there are a few things I need to sort out before the big race. My hair was one issue although I tie it up with two hair bobbles I still had bits at the front all over the place which was annoying. Another thing is my running shoes. I was desperately trying to avoid buying another pair of running shoes as they’re so expensive but about four miles into the half marathon I could feel my feet thinking about cramping up, which I think is because my shoes are a little bit too small for me.

Your feet are meant to expand quite a lot when you’re running marathon distances so if my feet are going to get any bigger I will definitely need to get some bigger shoes. I really like the shoes I currently have. They’re all black Asics and have served me really well, I didn’t realise how much I liked them until I was running in my 10 year old Wilson tennis shoes. When I bought them about six months ago I had absolutely no intention of running a marathon so I think I will be needing an upgrade. Luckily it’s pay day tomorrow.

Training summary:

Money raised: £501         37/64 runs           213/374 miles         6 weeks to go

Thoughts from this week:

  • I have a new job that I will be starting in April
  • Running 16 miles on Saturday
  • Going to see Haim next weekend
  • Present Day Clueless is the best thing on twitter
  • Gutted I didn’t get a medal from the half marathon

photo 1 (1) photo 2 (1) photo 3 photo 4

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Halfway

  1. Rainy Writer says:

    Congratulations on the half … and good luck on the marathon in 6 weeks!

  2. Seeph says:

    Well done on getting round the half! You definitely did the right thing by not running in your tennis shoes, could have done more harm than good. I ran three miles home last summer in a pair of Converse when I missed the last bus and thought I’d given myself a stress fracture for about a fortnight after. Always look after your feet 🙂

    • Thank you! I know I feel a bit guilty about cutting the run short but don’t want to risk an injury. That sounds awful! I once ran about a mile for a train wearing some boots once and it killed my shins.. Looking forward to getting some new trainers, will be a nice treat for my feet.

Leave a Reply

