What to expect from life of an ex-student in 2014

It’s been a few weeks since I last posted a blog and it feels like I have a lot to write about. Christmas was great. I got a tartan suit, some knee length boots, chocolate and a Christmas cactus. I went to London for New Year’s Eve which was also very good and the fireworks are 100 times better in real life than on the TV and I also only managed to spend £5 which as one of my housemates said is a Christmas miracle.

Now that the Christmas festivities are over and I’m now back at work, it’s time to get back to reality.

Although we’re only two days into 2014, I feel like this year is going to be a big year for me. There are loads of things I loved about 2013 like my ski season and starting my internship. I now have another whole year ahead of me and think a lot will change between now and the end of this year, again.

What currently feels like one of the biggest thing to happen this year will be the Manchester Marathon which I will be doing on 6th April. I know what you’ll be thinking, has she even done a half marathon? No. Is she crazy? Yes.

The thought of running 26 miles feels like a horrendously scary idea. After my Dad’s friend, who is mad keen on marathons, paid us a visit over the Christmas holidays I starting thinking about doing the marathon. Why shouldn’t I do a marathon? What else am I doing at the moment? What real reason do I have for not doing it? I know it will be hard but it’s worth giving it a go. I have just over three months to train for it.

Now that I’m back in Chorlton I’m planning to aim to run with the Chorlton Runners twice a week and then two times on my own. I have a training plan from Ascics, which doesn’t look too scary, and I’m just going to hope for the best. Plus I will write all about how I’m finding my training/if I’m sticking to my training/if I’m ever going to get around the course.

Other things which I will be talking about this year include going to Glastonbury, going to see Haim, going skiing in St Anton, finishing my internship and applying for new jobs.

Thoughts from this week:

  • The Christmas break has given me a cold
  • I have to go running in the morning
  • Going to watch the ballet production of Swan Lake next week
  • Planning on writing an article for the Shooting Times this week
  • I love Mark Wahlberg’s accent

blog regret 097 120 132 141 162

This entry was posted in marathon, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What to expect from life of an ex-student in 2014

  1. Laura says:

    Love that Oprah quote – and it applies to running a marathon! You can!

  2. lauramc101 says:

    Happy New Year! Good luck with the marathon!

Leave a Reply

