Flintshire 10k

I am now finally warm again after finishing the Flintshire 10k around Mold about three hours ago. One bath and a few cups of team later I now feel fine apart from being a bit exhausted. We left the house at 10 this morning to drive over to Mold leisure centre where we had to register. After being out of the car for about two minutes I realised that this run was going to be a lot different from the Tatton Park race for life. There was not one tutu or fancy dress runner in sight, but there were a hell of a lot of runners wearing their running club jerseys.

After my Dad came back from the toilet he said he’d been talking to someone and they had said that this race was going to be a tough one and we had 4km of hill to get over at the start of the race. The buzz at the starting line was great and me and Dad flew through the first 1km then we hit the hills. For about 10 minutes I felt pretty close to having a heart attack, then we got over the hill and past the 5k mark then it was all downhill from there.

Once the rain began to fall the already wet roads became even wetter and although it was great running downhill I was a bit weary about slipping over but I didn’t. Around the 7k mark there were two other small hills and it was still pouring down. The last 9k was pretty tough and we were soaked through. Once we crossed over the finished line I had to resist the urge to lie down on the leisure centre car park.

The fastest runner was in the men’s senior category, which is men under the ago of 30, and he did it in 34 minutes. He was also a member of the Eryri Harriers. The slowest time was 1 hour and 35 minutes and that person wasn’t a member of a running team. There were 655 runners all together, 163 women and 329 men. I came 103rd out of the women and 28th in my women’s senior category. I’m still coming to terms with the fact that I’m in the senior women’s category.

Thoughts from this week:

  • I now have three hours of Strictly to watch this evening
  • I’m not running this week
  • Roast lamb for dinner
  • Been listening to Don Broco all week
  • Reckon I could make a living as a quiz master after doing it on Wednesday

046 049 051 056 058

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

