Things I will miss about Zermatt

After returning from Switzerland on Saturday I’ve been enjoying lots of things about being at home like my double bed, Sky TV and playing with our new puppy. Now the weekends over and everyone’s at work and I am not, I’m beginning to think about all the things I miss about Zermatt.

Here are just a few things I’ve come up with so far:

  1. Skiing
  2. Kamanga
  3. Cable Car
  4. The Matterhorn
  5. Being with people all the time
  6. Complaining about work
  7. Broken
  8. Wearing my skiing stuff
  9. Complaining about guests
  10. Blue Lounge
  11. The red bus
  12. Hennu Stall
  13. Schnee
  14. Avalanche blasts
  15. Prix guarantee beer
  16. Laughing and people wearing Bogner
  17. Stores
  18. Transfer days
  19. Complaining about our lack of personal hygiene
  20. Chalet wine

It feels really strange being back at home. In someways it doesn’t feel like I’ve been away at all but then in other ways it feels like I’m home for Christmas or something and will be going back to Zermatt in a couple of weeks. It’s really depressing how I won’t be skiing for a very long time and how I don’t know what I’m going to be doing over the next few months.

Getting back into the home way of living will take a bit of getting used to. I’m still waking up early and still seem to be constantly sleepy. I am loving the fact that I can now put on clean clothes everyday and don’t have to smell a pair of socks to see if they’re clean before putting them on. I also drove for the first time in five months yesterday which was amazing. It felt a bit like I was learning to drive again as I did bump a few curbs on my way around roundabouts.

So now that I am back in the UK for good I have a new to do list. Get a hair cut, clean all of my clothes and find a job.

Thoughts from this week:

  • Coach journeys lasting 18 hours aren’t that bad
  • Going for a Nandos tonight
  • Looking forward to catching up with Grey’s Anatomy
  • Will be interesting to see how my first run of the year goes
  • My love for not having to go work will soon wear off

018 021 014 021 031

This entry was posted in Job Hunting, Ski Season, Zermatt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

