My thoughts on Wonderland’s I Used To Be a Beauty Queen

I have just finished watching I used to be a beauty queen on BBC 2. The main reason that we watched the programme was because my Mum’s friend Carolyn Moore was featured in it as she was crowned Miss United Kingdom in 1971.

The programme has left me feeling slightly depressed, not because Carolyn was portrayed in a bad way but because a lot of the other beauty queens seem to have had pretty unhappy lives. One is living with her mother, one living was abandoned by her husband and the other is a widow living alone. One winner lives in Switzerland which would be nice but it seems only Carolyn who lives with her husband in London, has lived a relatively normal life.

I think one of the reasons some of these woman are alone is because the perception of woman changed dramatically between the 70’s and today.  Looking at the footage even the swimsuit event changed over the years. As the swimsuits became more revealing I think that the effect of beauty become more irrelevant.

From a journalism perspective it was interesting to see Uncle Brian and Aunty Maureen on the TV. I think the BBC has neatly edited the show to make some of the things mentioned seem more promiscuous than they actually were. I may be biased but I think Carolyn Moore was definitely the best looking Miss United Kingdom out of the bunch.

Thoughts from this week:

  • I hate it when people sit outside at pubs, it makes my job twice as hard
  • Visited a fur retailer today and will write about it at some point
  • Been listening to a lot of Amy Studt, False Smiles was a great album
  • I feel the attempt to dip dye my own hair has been a success
  • Enjoying reading Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince as much as expected
This entry was posted in Beauty Queens, Family and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My thoughts on Wonderland’s I Used To Be a Beauty Queen

  1. geo says:

    You have dipped dyed your hair??? Photo immediately!!

  2. Jeyna Grace says:

    Yup, thats what the media can do to portraying people.

Leave a Reply

