Olympic 2012 Hype

I’ve been enjoying the coverage of the Olympics this week, as well as the sporadic mistakes on live television that the BBC have made which always make me smile.

Watching the athletics I was beginning to think how odd the Olympic games actually are. An inaccurate description would be competitions in who can jump the highest or throw a long stick or heavy ball the furthest.

What amazes me is how someone built with the same stuff as every human, can run so fast? I imagine most people would say that it takes years of training and determination to become an Olympic athlete, which I’m sure it does, but maybe the average person isn’t born with the capacity for that amount of determination and there is something different built into these people.

Another thing which I think about when watching the Olympics is the Hunger Games. I know as a journalist I should be reading more sophisticated literature than teen novels but I couldn’t help myself and read all three books in four months.

Dominating the medals table at the moment are China and the United States, two of the wealthiest countries in the world whilst poorer countries have less medals to their names. In the Hunger Games people compete against each other from different districts and the richer districts usually win. The Olympics and Hunger Games are both typically won by wealthy countries, perhaps showing that determination, training and money are needed to win the games.

Thoughts from this week:

  • Thomson holidays do not allow enough baggage on their flights
  • The new front covers of Harry Potter books are awful, why did they change them?
  • I watched Cruel Intentions this week and I now like Reese Witherspoon
  • Michael Phelps has made watching the Olympics more enjoyable
  • I’ve just discovered that I like Lenny Kravitz, thanks to Song pop
This entry was posted in Olympics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Olympic 2012 Hype

  1. Geo says:

    But you now hate Sarah Michelle gellar even more right? x

Leave a Reply

