The Dark Knight Rises while Batman shooter falls

Today the BBC announced that James Holmes, the 24-year-old who opened fire in a showing of The Dark Knight Rises, has been charged and could face the death penalty.

When I first heard about the shooting in Colorado, I’m sad to say that I wasn’t surprised. After seeing the film last night I couldn’t help thinking that I’d just been shown how a terrorist could take over a city. I know it’s not real, but all the dramatic explosives and villains shooting innocent people made it seem a bit too real.

James Holmes will now be added to the list of people like Anders Behring Breivik, the Norwegian who killed 77 people last year, Raoul Moat, Derrick Bird and so many others who one day decided to kill innocent people.

I think violence shown in films and computer games has a massive effect on some people and that film certificates need to be taken more seriously. How can a film showing a crazy guy snapping peoples necks and blowing up buildings be a 12a? I can’t remember the last time a film was given an 18 certificate.

Aside from this I was so impressed with The Dark Knight Rises, bearing in mind I am 21 not 12. My opinion on Anne Hathaway has completely changed and I always love films with Joseph Gordon-Levitt. I liked the humour and one-liners but also feel there were enough twists in the story to keep me satisfied.

Thoughts from this week:

  • I would highly recommend Sapporo Teppanyaki in Manchester
  • The Olympic opening ceremony was brilliant
  • I’m addicted to Song Pop
  • Graduation has made me listen to songs from High School Musical a lot
  • I hope Mila Kunis and Ashton Kutcher are really together- they’d be a cool couple
This entry was posted in Cinema and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Dark Knight Rises while Batman shooter falls

Leave a Reply

