21st Birthday Party

Like most people who have birthdays, I had a party to celebrate my 21st this weekend. With a mix of family, uni and school friends, and my parents friends I was a bit apprehensive about how well the mingling would go.

During our school years I frequently hosted parties when my parents were away which were always pretty fun. But after a few incidents which included flooding the utility room with orange juice, throwing mayonnaise over the walls and smashing my Mum’s plant pots I decided to retire from the party hosting business.

So once the marquee had been put up, the hog roast had been ordered and the gallons of booze had been bought I was excited and a bit nervous at the same time. Would my friends from home get on with people from uni? Was there enough alcohol? Was there too much alcohol which could lead to someone throwing up in my parents bed?

Luckily, none of the above occurred on Saturday night and uni and school friends chatted whilst enjoying the 180 pints of local lager and the grandparents sat down in the sunshine and enjoyed their elder-flower cordial.

The next day as we all woke up to our hangovers, it had hit me that my party was over. But as one friend was sick three times and another didn’t surface from bed until 2pm I felt sure that everyone had enjoyed themselves and my days of throwing parties which led to me getting shouted at by my parents, were over.

Thoughts from this week:

  • There is not enough crackling on half a pig to feed my friends
  • A good party is fueled by pork and alcohol
  • Remember to separate sausage rolls from cheese puffs before serving Muslim guests
  • Forcing yourself to drink wine in bed will result in you being sick the next day
  • It takes at least two days to recover from your 21st birthday party

This entry was posted in Birthdays and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

