Work Experience

I have had my fair share of unpaid work experience and I have gained something beneficial from every week I have done. In this economic climate it is no surprise that companies are not willing to pay graduates to make tea and coffee and perform tasks that aren’t really necessary. But what happens when you start to do real work and still remain unpaid?

I have discussed this topic many times with other graduates as well as my parents who are having to feed me while I earn no money and drive my car to work with petrol that I haven’t paid for. I am very lucky that I have my parents to keep me floating while I build up my CV  but it’s very unfair on people who can’t afford to work for free.

What is the difference between unpaid work experience and exploiting young people for something that any adult would insist on receiving a salary for? Many of my friends say that they won’t work for free but in this game of trying to get a job that we’re all playing, I think working for free is something that you have to do to become employable.

Thoughts from this week:

  • Spinning exercise classes are just a load of people who are possessed by bikes
  • Best local news story from work ex this week: reports of a missing cow
  • British summers suck
  • Chester’s nightlife has two options: hanging out with 17 year-olds or 35 year-olds
  • My guilty pleasure this week has been the Wanted chasing the sun, although for a while I did think one of their lines was ‘daylight saving’
This entry was posted in Work Experience and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

